Acting President Yemi Osinbajo To Chose Two Ministers Today

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo will today, Wednesday, July 26, 2017, swear-in two ministers who were approved by the Senate in May, a NAN report said last night.

“To be sworn in are Prof. Stephen Ocheni from Kogi and Mr. Suleiman Hassan from Gombe State.

Both men would take the oath before the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting,” the report said.

It quoted Laolu Akande, SSA Media to the Acting President, as confirming the swearing-in in a tweet Tuesday night.

The nominees were confirmed on May 3 after screening by senators at plenary.

The confirmation of the nominees followed a request by President Muhammadu Buhari in accordance with Section147 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Buhari had forwarded the names of the ministerial nominees to the Senate as replacements for late Mr. James Ocholi (Kogi) and Mrs. Amina Mohammed (Gombe).

Ocholi, who was Minister of State for Employment, Labour, and Productivity, died in an auto crash in 2016.

Mohammed, Minister of Environment, stepped down to take up the post of Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations.


Senate Makes U-turn On Nominees’ Confirmation

Two weeks after the Senate resolved to suspend consideration of the Presidency requests for confirmation of nominees, the upper chamber on Wednesday received the report of its Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on the screening of 12 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

The Senate, on July 4 resolved to suspend all confirmation requests from the Presidency until Acting President Yemi Osinbajo withdraws a statement credited to him that the Senate does not need to confirm nominees from the executive arm of government.

The Senate also asked the Presidency to sack the Acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mr. Ibrahim Magu, in line with its resolution.

The Senate took the resolution to suspend confirmation of presidential nominees when Senate President, Bukola Saraki, read Osinbajo‘s letter, urging the upper chamber to confirm the nomination of Lanre Gbajabiamila as Director-General of the National Lottery Commission (NLC).

Senator Ahmed Sani Yerima (Zamfara West) noted that since the acting President had already concluded that the Senate lacks the powers to confirm nominees, there was no need to acknowledge any letter from the executive on confirmation of nominees.

However, the Senate after over one hour closed session reversed itself by receiving the report of the RECs screening.

The resolution suspending confirmation requests reportedly featured prominently at the closed session.

The 12 RECs whose screening reports were received were – Mrs. Asmanu Sani Maikudi (Katsina), Sam Olugbadebo Olumekun (Ondo), Mahmud Isah ( Kebbi), Rufus Oloruntoyin Akeju (Lagos) and Riskuwa Shehu (Sokoto).

Others are – Kassim Gana Geidam (Yobe), Jibrin Ibrahim Zarewa (Kano), Abdulganiyu Olayinka Raji (Oyo), Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Mike Igini (Delta), Mustapha Zubairu( Niger) and Ahmad Bello Mahmud (Zamfara).

No date was fixed for their confirmation.